Clone a site or page

Cloning allows administrators and site owners to create new versions of a site or page and the items displayed on its layout. Cloning a site also clones any pages attached to it, as well as the items displayed on each page. Pages can also be cloned independently of the site to which they belong.

Note:

A site owner can only clone their site if they are also the owner of all items displayed on the site’s layout. The site owner must also own all pages attached to the site for each page to be cloned.

Clone a site

To clone a site, follow these steps:

  1. Sign in to ArcGIS Hub.
  2. On Overview, click Manage on the Sites or Initiatives card.
  3. Open the site you want to clone by clicking its title.
  4. Review the site's layout to confirm that it's ready to be cloned.
  5. Click the more button ellipses in the edit navigation bar and choose Clone Layout.

    After the site has been cloned, you can start editing its layout.

Cloned site items and groups

When you clone a site, the following items and groups are added to ArcGIS Online of which the administrator or site owner becomes the owner:

  • A Hub Site Application item named after the original site (originalsitename 1).
  • A Hub Page item named after the original page (originalpage 1) for each page added to the site, including linked pages that were created for other sites.
  • A originalsitename 1 Core Team group and a originalsitename 1 Content group.
  • Cloned items for each of the ArcGIS Online items displayed on the site’s layout and page layouts.
    Note:

    Feature services are not cloned. If your site layout includes a statistics card, for example, that points to a feature service layer or table, the clone will not make a copy of the service. Instead, it will use the existing service from the original site or page.

  • A Hub Initiative item is shared to the new core team group only.
    Note:

    This item allows the site and its items to generate clones of themselves. Do not delete this item.

  • A followers group is also added to ArcGIS Online if the site was cloned with ArcGIS Hub Premium or by a community administrator in the community organization.

A cloned site is shared to its new core team group. Cloned pages and items are shared to the cloned site’s core team group and content group. To view cloned sites, items, and groups in ArcGIS Online, click the more button ellipses on the site's edit navigation bar and choose Edit in ArcGIS Online.

Clone a page

Administrators and Hub page owners can clone a page without cloning the site to which the page is attached.

  1. Sign in to ArcGIS Hub.
  2. Open a page in edit mode.
  3. Review the page’s layout to confirm that it's ready to be cloned.
  4. Click the more button ellipses in the edit navigation bar and choose Clone Layout.

    After the page has been cloned, you can start editing its layout.

A cloned page is shared to the site’s core team group. To view the cloned page in ArcGIS Online, click the more button ellipses and choose Edit in ArcGIS Online.

Edit cloned content

The following people can edit a cloned site and its cloned pages and items:

  • The organization’s Hub administrators and other ArcGIS Online administrators
  • The owner of the cloned site and its cloned pages and items
  • Members of the cloned site’s core team group

Any changes made to a cloned version of an item are not reflected on the original item. For more information on editing, see Site editing basics and Edit a page.

Troubleshooting

If you encounter issues when cloning a site or page, it may have to do with one or more the following reasons:

  • If the layout has an embedded app with a feature service (includes a view), such as a survey, dashboard, or web map, you must be the owner of the feature service or the administrator of the ArcGIS Online organization where the feature service is stored.
  • The item on the layout doesn’t exist.