Create and open space plans

Available with the ArcGIS Indoors Spaces extension.

Indoor Space Planner is not configured with a plan when the app is first created. You can create plans and modify space assignments to review different scenarios. Modifications to a plan are saved and contained only in that plan.

You must have privileges associated with the default role of Publisher or higher to create plans, and you must have privileges associated with the default role of Data Editor or higher to open and edit plans shared to your organization. If you're using a custom role, the Edit privilege for features must be enabled in ArcGIS Online to open and edit plans.

Note:

If you made a schema change after creating a plan to enable a new functionality, you must create a new plan to access the new functionality. For example, if you added a RESTRICTED field to the Areas table after creating a plan, you must create a new plan to configure restricted hotels.

New plans can be kept private or shared with your organization. Optionally, you can share plans with one or more groups that you are a member of. You can also update the sharing level of existing plans at any time.

Note:

If you share plans with groups, group members can open plans, make changes, review moves, and add comments to your plans in Space Planner.

Plans cannot be shared to a group that has the Who can be in this group setting configured with the Any organization's members option.

Create a space plan

You can create several plans in Space Planner, and each can be unique to different planning scenarios for your organization.

  1. Click the Options button Options.
  2. Click New Plan.
  3. In the New Plan panel, provide a title and, optionally, a summary describing your plan.
  4. Specify the access type by choosing a Share With option.
  5. Click Create Plan.

    The new plan opens in Space Planner. Any changes you make to the plan are automatically saved.

Open an existing space plan

In Space Planner, you can open plans created by others if the plans are shared to the organization or a group in which you are a member.

  1. Click the Options button Options.
  2. Click Open Plan and choose a plan from the list.
    If the plan you open is using a floor plan that has been updated, an Information dialog box appears with the option to bring in the latest changes, including assignments.
    Note:

    If you have trouble opening the plan, ensure you have the necessary permissions. Contact your ArcGIS organization administrator for ArcGIS Online to request access.

    Tip:

    To delete a plan, click the delete button Delete next to the plan. You can only delete a space plan if you created it, unless you are an administrator. Administrators can delete all plans. A plan cannot be deleted while it is open.

Create a plan from an existing plan in ArcGIS Online

You can use an existing plan as a starting point for a new plan. Alternatively, you can make changes to your current plan and save it as a new plan with those changes. The new plan will also contain any edits made to the plan from which it was created, including all existing comments, reviewers, and moves. A new feature layer is created in the new plan to store comments and reviewers. This facilitates evaluating different scenarios in a proposed plan. Edits to space plans are automatically saved as they are made, and you do not need to manually save a plan during editing.

Complete the following steps to create another plan:

  1. Click the Options button Options.
  2. Click Save As.
  3. In the Save Plan As panel, provide a title and, optionally, a summary describing your plan.
  4. Specify the access type by choosing a Share With option.
  5. Click Create Plan.

    Your saved plan opens in Space Planner and contains your changes in addition to everything in the original plan.

Note:

Placeholder occupants will be included in a new plan created using Save As.

Related topics