Edit attributes

Available with the ArcGIS Indoors Spaces extension.

You can edit attributes for units and occupants from the Plan tab of Indoor Space Planner. For example, you can set whether a unit is assignable, modify the use type or capacity of a unit, or update an occupant's name or contact information.

To make fields in the units and occupants layers editable in Space Planner, ensure that the Read Only field property is turned off in ArcGIS Pro before sharing the web map to your ArcGIS organization. Attribute fields that are set as read-only in the web map are not available for editing in the app.

Some attributes are not editable by default in Space Planner. For example, you cannot edit managed fields, such as ObjectID, Shape_Area, Shape_Length, GlobalID, and editor tracking fields in the app. The following fields are managed by Space Planner if they are present and cannot be edited in the app, even if editing is available in the web map:

  • Units—ASSIGNMENT_TYPE, AREA_ID, NAME, NAME_LONG, UNIT_ID, LEVEL_ID, SITE_ID, SITE_NAME, FACILITY_ID, and FACILITY_NAME
  • Occupants—UNIT_NAME, NAME_LONG, UNIT_ID, LEVEL_ID, SITE_ID, SITE_NAME, FACILITY_ID, and FACILITY_NAME

Edits made from the Properties tab only affect the current plan. Once you have made all the necessary edits, you can merge the updated attributes to your organization’s default space plan.

Space Planner resolves conflicts in edited attributes by honoring edits in the most recently merged space plan. For example, if a unit is assigned to a hotel area in one plan and merged, and the same unit is made unassignable in a second plan and merged, the app updates the unit as unassignable and unassigns it from the hotel. In ArcGIS Online, you can also save updated attributes for units and occupants to a new plan using the Save As option.

Note:

You must have privileges associated with the default role of Data Editor or higher to make changes to a plan. If you’re using a custom role, the Edit features privilege must be enabled to open and edit plans.

Edit unit attributes

You can edit a unit's attributes or make a unit unassignable to change the way it is used for space planning.

Enable or disable assignments

You can make a unit unassignable by completing the following steps in a unit’s info card to disable assignments to that unit.

  1. Click a unit feature on the map.

    The unit’s info card appears.

    Tip:

    You can also open a unit’s info card by clicking the unit in either Units list.

  2. Ensure the Assignments tab in the info card is the active tab.
  3. Click the Assignment Settings button Assignment Settings and click Disable Assignments.

    If the unit has no assignments, it can no longer be assigned. If the unit has assignments, the Disable Assignments dialog box appears and lists any occupants, hotels, or hot desk areas that will be unassigned from the unit.

  4. If there were assignments, click Unassign to confirm.

The unit no longer appears in the Assigned or Unassigned units lists. If any occupants were unassigned to the unit and they have multiple assignments, their other associated assignments are also updated.

Tip:

You can click the Undo button Undo to revert changes to the occupants attribute. This restores any other assignments that were associated with the unit.

You can also re-enable assignments from the Assignments tab of the unit’s info card.

Edit unit properties

You can edit a unit’s attributes by completing the following steps on a unit’s info card:

  1. Click a unit on the map.
    Tip:

    You can also bring up a unit’s info card by clicking the unit in either Units list.

    The unit’s info card appears.

  2. Ensure the Properties tab is the active tab in the info card.
  3. Click Edit.

    The dialog box for the unit appears and lists the unit’s editable attributes.

  4. Edit the attributes as necessary.

    Editable fields are restricted to allowable values based on the field's properties in the web map. For example, domain values or attribute values of the correct data type.

    Note:

    The following fields are managed by Space Planner if they are present in the Units layer and cannot be edited in the app, even if editing is available in the web map: ASSIGNMENT_TYPE, AREA_ID, NAME, NAME_LONG, UNIT_ID, LEVEL_ID, SITE_ID, SITE_NAME, FACILITY_ID, and FACILITY_NAME.

  5. Optionally, click the Add button Add to add a value to the Use Type drop-down list.
    Note:

    You can also choose an existing field value from the drop-down list.

  6. Click an equipment's drop-down arrow and change the value to Yes if you want it to appear as a filter option in the Viewer and mobile app equipment filter.

    The equipment options that appear here are configured in ArcGIS Pro.

  7. Click Update.

Updates are now incorporated in your current plan. Merge the plan to your organization's default space plan to make updates available to other app users.

Edit occupant properties

You can edit an occupant’s attributes to update their information and facilitate facility planning. You can add custom attributes to the Occupants layer, such as comments or notes, and configure the fields as editable in the web map. You can edit attributes in Space Planner by completing the following:

  1. Click an occupant on the map.
    Tip:

    You can also access an occupant’s info card by clicking the occupant in the Assignments list or in the People list found in the Not Assigned section.

    The occupant’s info card appears.

  2. Ensure the Properties tab is the active tab in the info card.
  3. Click Edit.

    The Edit occupant dialog box appears and lists the occupant’s editable attributes.

  4. Edit the attributes as necessary.

    Updates you make to any of the properties are reflected in all records for the occupant.

    Note:

    The following fields are managed by Space Planner if they are present in the Occupants layer and cannot be edited in the app, even if editing is available in the web map: UNIT_NAME, NAME_LONG, UNIT_ID, LEVEL_ID, SITE_ID, SITE_NAME, FACILITY_ID, and FACILITY_NAME.

  5. Click Update.

Updates are now incorporated in your current plan. Merge the plan to your organization's default space plan to make updates available to other app users.

Tip:

You can click the Undo button Undo to revert the changes to the occupants attribute.

Related topics