How discussions work

ArcGIS Hub discussions provides the ability to have private content-based conversations within groups. Group members can provide feedback, share information, and ask questions related to documents, images, datasets, web maps, and more. Read frequently asked questions.

License:
The discussions feature requires a license to ArcGIS Hub Premium.

Start a Discussion

Users can participate within their groups in discussions that are based on any item in the content library. Posts and replies will only be visible to members of the group.

  1. In live site mode (while signed-in), find and view a content item using your site's search tool.
  2. Select the discussions button discussions. You can view and contribute to an existing conversation and/or create a new one within your groups.
  3. To start a new discussion, select Create a Post.
  4. Select one of your groups; only members of this group will be able to view and add posts and replies.

    Note:
    A ‘group’ signifies an ArcGIS Online group, including any Hub teams to which the user belongs.

  5. Add a title (optionally) as a summary of the post. Titles can help differentiate among separate sets of posts and replies that comprise the full discussion of a content item.
  6. Enter your message in the post window. If needed, use @mentions (See Notify others by email), and select or draw map features to include in the post (See Add a location to a post).
  7. When finished, select Create a Post (or Cancel if needed). You can return to a post or reply and edit or delete it.

To view a discussion, go to the item of content it references. You will see the full discussion of the item, which contains connected sets of posts and replies. Posts are sorted chronologically with most recent at top. To open a set of posts and replies, select the symbol (with a number) found on the first post, indicating the number of replies to that post. Select the discussions button discussions again to view the content as full screen.

Add a location to a post

When the content item is geographic (map-based) and you are viewing the data, you can select an existing geographic feature or draw on the map, to add to a post or reply. You can associate multiple drawn or selected features with each post and reply. From the map, you can view and explore posts and replies.

  1. While entering or editing a message, select the Add a location add a location button on the post or reply window.
  2. Use the Select tool select to click on a geographic feature on the map (point, line, or area) in an existing data layer.
  3. Use the Draw tools on the map to add a point, line, or area to the map.
    • Pin pin —Mark a location.
    • Freehand freehand —Draw a line.
    • Area freehand area —Draw a polygon.

    Note:
    Selecting and drawing locations is currently desktop-only. For map-based content, you can select only dataset type items.

  4. When finished, you can edit or delete a drawn feature from the map, or remove a selected or drawn feature from a post or reply.
  5. When finished, select Create a Post (or Cancel if needed).

Notify others by email

When contributing to a discussion, you can notify other group members via email by using @mentions. The email notification will contain a link that goes directly to the relevant post or reply. In a post or reply, type the @ symbol to search for @username and select a person to mention. This allows you to notify other group members of new posts or replies, or that something needs attention, such as reviewing changes to a document or dataset.

You can manage preferences and change notification settings (opt-out) to stop receiving e-mail notifications when you are mentioned in a group discussion. You can also resume (opt-in) to start receiving notifications again.

Manage a discussion

Group members can edit or delete their own posts and replies. The organizational administrator can edit or delete any posts or replies within any group. Once deleted, posts and replies are no longer available. The owner of the group is automatically designated as the owner of the discussion occurring within that group. This owner (group manager) or the organizational administrator can delete the conversation.

Read this article for an overview of discussions and its capabilities. Look here to learn about sample use cases, work flows, and details about how discussions can apply to your work.