Configure a plan

Depending on whether a plan is in public content or is still a design, you can configure different settings. To learn more about public and design plans, see Share and publish a plan.

Configure a public plan

To change the configuration of a plan in public content, you must have permission to edit the urban model. See Workflow accessibility and Share an urban model for details. Complete the following steps to access the settings of a plan in public content:

  1. Select the public plan you want to configure.
  2. Click the Settings button on the plan detail card.

    If there is no Settings button on the plan detail card, you are either not allowed to edit the urban model or the selected plan is not in public content.

    The plan configuration opens to the general plan settings tab by default. The tab is named after the plan. It is also referred to as the General tab.

  3. Configure the public plan by doing any or all of the following:
    • On the General tab, do the following:
      • Edit the plan name, address, description, thumbnail, start and end date, and web URL.
      • Mark the plan as featured.
      • Enable or disable public engagement.
      • Delete the plan.
    • On the Sharing tab, lock the plan configuration so other users cannot edit it. Only the owner of the plan or the urban database can lock it.
    • On the Scenarios tab, edit the name and description of scenarios.

    The following tabs of the plan configuration are read-only for public plans:

    • Types
    • Layers
    • Metrics

  4. Click Return to Overview Return to Overview in the header when you finish with the configuration.

Configure a design plan

To change the configuration of a design plan, you must have permission to edit the plan. Complete the following steps to configure the design plan:

  1. Select the design plan you want to configure.
  2. Click Open on the plan detail card.
  3. Expand the drop-down menu named after the plan and select Configure.

    The plan configuration opens to the general plan settings tab by default. The tab is named after the plan. It is also referred to as the General tab.

  4. Configure the plan.

    See the General settings, Sharing, Types, Scenarios, Layers, and Metrics subsections below to learn what you can configure.

  5. Click Return to Plan Return to Plan in the header when you finish the configuration.
  6. Click Return to Overview Return to Overview to go back to the overview.

General settings

Click the tab that is named after the plan to do the following:

  • Configure the plan name, address, description, thumbnail, start and end date, and web URL.
  • Mark the plan as featured.
  • Configure a plan design context layer.
  • Enable sync for the ArcGIS CityEngine integration.
  • Delete the plan.
Note:

  • Enable sync is only available if you are the plan owner.
  • Delete plan is only available if you are the plan owner.
  • You can only enable Public Engagement on public plans.

Sharing

Click the Sharing tab to do the following:

  • Lock the plan so others cannot edit it.
  • Share the plan with users and groups.

See Share a design plan for more information about sharing a plan.

Note:

Lock editing is only available if you are the plan owner.

Types

Click the Types tab to configure the following types for the plan:

  • Space-use types
  • Zoning types (on zoning plans only)
  • Land-use types (for land-use plans only)
  • Building types

See Space use types, Zoning types, Land use types, and Building types to learn how to add space-use, zoning, land-use, and building types.

Scenarios

Click the Scenarios tab to do the following:

  • Edit the name and description of scenarios.
  • Configure a scenario design context layer.
  • Add scenarios.

Layers

Click the Layers tab to configure the following layers for the plan's scenarios:

  • Zoning boundaries (for zoning plans only)
  • Land-use boundaries (for land-use plans only)
  • Overlays
  • Parcels
  • Spaces
  • Metric values

You can import features to a scenario and delete features from a scenario.

Import features

You can import features from a hosted feature layer to a scenario if the scenario doesn't include features of that layer type yet. If a scenario includes features of that layer type, you need to delete the existing features first. This does not apply to importing spaces: If a scenario already contains spaces, the uploaded building spaces are added to the existing ones.

Complete the following steps to import data from a hosted feature layer:

  1. Click Layers and choose a layer type:
    • Zoning—Import zoning boundaries.
    • Land Use—Import land-use boundaries.
    • Overlays—Import overlays.
    • Parcels—Import parcels.
    • Spaces—Import building spaces by uploading building footprints.
    • Metric values—Import existing data to metrics. Note that only the owner of the design plan can import existing data to metrics.
  2. Select the scenario that will receive the features.

    Metric values are always imported to the existing scenario.

  3. Click Add (or Import building footprints when working with spaces).

    The portal item picker appears.

  4. Click the layer you want to use and click OK.

    The import settings appear.

  5. Define the import settings:
    • Zoning, Land Use, Overlays, and Parcels—Match the fields correctly in the field matching dialog box.
    • Spaces—Select the building type to be applied to the imported footprints. See the Import buildings from footprints topic for more details on how to import building spaces from footprints.
    • Metric values—Define the import settings as described in the Import existing metric data section.
  6. Click OK.

    Features within the study area are imported to the selected scenario. Spaces outside parcels are not imported.

Delete features

Complete the following steps to delete features from a plan scenario:

  1. Click Layers and choose a layer type:
    • Zoning—Delete zoning boundaries.
    • Land Use—Delete land-use boundaries.
    • Overlays—Delete overlays.
    • Parcels—Delete parcels.
    • Metric values—Delete existing data from metrics.
  2. Select the scenario that includes the features you want to delete.
  3. Click Delete All.
  4. Click Delete All again to confirm the deletion.

    Features belonging to the selected scenario are deleted.

Note:
Spaces cannot be deleted in the plan configuration. Instead, click Development Development in the header of the plan editor. Then select all parcels, click the Modify drop-down menu in the Development on selected parcels section of the side panel and select Reset.

Metrics

Click the Metrics tab to do the following:

  • Load default metrics if no metrics were added yet.
  • Add and edit metrics.
  • Explore metrics in the dependency graph.

See Manage metrics for additional details.