After you have received responses to your survey, you can share the results with others.
Sharing of surveys is managed on the Collaborate tab in the Survey123 website. There are three categories of Survey123 user:
- Owner—The user who published the survey. A survey can have only one owner. The owner has full access to a survey and its records.
- Submitter—A submitter can submit responses to your survey from the Survey123 field app or web app. A submitter can optionally edit records in the Survey123 field app or web app, depending on the settings on the Share survey section of the Collaborate tab. For more information, see Control user access to records.
- Viewer—A viewer can view the results of your survey on the Data and Analyze tabs on the Survey123 website and also create feature reports. A viewer who is also a submitter can optionally edit and delete their own records in the form view on the Data tab, depending on the settings on the Share survey section of the Collaborate tab. For more information, see Control user access to records. In this context, viewer is not related to the Viewer user type in ArcGIS organizations.
To view the results of your survey on the Data and Analyze tabs, a user must be a viewer. A viewer can also create feature reports on the Data tab. A viewer who is also a submitter can optionally edit and delete their own records in the form view panel. The ability to edit or delete records is controlled by the What can submitters do options in the Share survey section on the Collaborate tab. For more information, see Control user access to records.
To separate permissions between viewers and submitters, Survey123 uses hosted feature layer views. If you are using an ArcGIS Server feature layer instead of a hosted feature layer, you will be unable to implement separate submitting and viewing permissions, because ArcGIS Server feature layers do not support views.
The following table outlines who can view, edit and delete records on the Data tab on the Survey123 website:
|Form view||Data table|
Viewer and submitter
- ¹Must be able to update records in the What can submitters do section.
- ²Must be able to delete records in the What can submitters do section.
There are several methods for editing existing records. For more information, see Edit existing survey data.
Share the results of your survey
You can determine who can view the results of your survey in the Share results section on the Collaborate tab. To share the results of your survey, select one or more of the following options:
- Everyone (Public)—Allows access to anyone who wants to see the results of your survey.
Responses that were submitted anonymously may not be private and an anonymous user may be able to see all other responses that were submitted anonymously. Access to anonymous responses can be managed through the feature layer settings. For more information, see Manage editor settings.
Be aware that configuring permissions through the feature layer settings could lead to unexpected issues. Also be aware that all of these changes to the feature layer settings will be lost if you republish your survey.
A user will not be able to share a survey publicly if their role in their organization lacks the Share items publicly privilege, or their organization has disabled the Allow users to share items publicly security setting.
- Members of my organization—Allows all users of any level within your organization to see your results.
- Following groups—Allows you to choose which groups created by your organization have access to your results; this can include people outside of your organization. In the example above, there is only one group, for basemaps. Sharing to a group will also share the feature report templates associated with this survey, which are stored as items in the survey folder. Refer to Create a group for more information.
The What data can viewers see options allow you to choose if viewers can see all records submitted to the survey or only their own submissions. The default is to allow viewers to see all records.
Once your preferred options have been selected, click Save at the bottom of the page. The Share survey results section at the top of the Share results page provides a link that can be shared so others can view the results of your survey. The people you've shared the survey with will also be able to open its results from their own My Surveys page.