When configuring a feed, you can choose to allow ArcGIS Velocity to publish a feature layer that stores all observations of the ingested data.
Publish a history feature layer
The ability to publish a feature layer that stores all observations from a feed can be enabled and specified on the Save step of the feed configuration wizard by checking the Also publish a feature layer which keeps all observations check box.
After checking the check box, several other parameters are available including Data retention (time period of retaining data) and Data export (feature layer archive).
A data retention policy must be set and specifies when accumulated data will be purged from the history feature layer. The data retention options include 1 hour, 1 day, 1 week, 1 month, 6 months, and 1 year.
Data can be exported to a feature layer archive (or cold store) prior to being purged using the Data export (feature layer archive)parameter. For more information on data retention, see Introduction to data retention.
In addition, you can specify the aggregation style, the bin style for dynamic aggregation of the data, as well as editor tracking to record the user name and date when feature records are created or updated in the feature layer. For more information on aggregation styles, see Visualize map image layers. For more information on editor tracking, see Data access and editing.
Once a history feature layer is created, if updates to the associated feed are made, two messages will appear confirming you want to overwrite the associated feature layer schema. If you decide to overwrite the current schema, the existing feature data will be deleted and the layer will be updated with the new schema.
The feed and the associated history feature layer will share the same name.
Delete the history feature layer
The feed and the history feature layer can be deleted separately. If the feed is restarted, a new history feature layer will be created. A new history feature layer will always be created until you uncheck the Also publish a feature layer which keeps all observations check box.
The history feature layer cannot be deleted while the feed is running.
Considerations and limitations
If the Also publish a feature layer which keeps all observations parameter is checked, the check box will be grayed out until you delete the associated history feature layer.
If you change the feed name, the history feature layer's name will not be updated and will remain the same as when it was created.
The keep latest storage capability is not yet available in ArcGIS Velocity.