Manage partnered collaborations

After a partnered collaboration between ArcGIS Online organizations has been established, participating organizations can manage the collaboration details. As an administrator with privileges to manage the organization's collaborations, you can choose to allow partnered organizations to search for your members, view and add collaboration coordinators to manage collaboration groups, and view and create groups used for collaborating. You can also choose to end a partnered collaboration.

Manage collaboration details

You can manage a partnered collaboration's details, including member visibility and coordinators, from the collaboration details page.

  1. Sign in to your organization as an administrator with privileges to manage the organization's collaborations.
  2. At the top of the site, click Organization and click the Settings tab.
  3. Click Collaborations on the side of the page.
  4. In the Partnered section, click the More options button More options for the collaboration you want to manage, and choose Details.
  5. On the collaboration details page, do any of the following:
    • Change the access given to partner organizations to search for your organization's members using the Member visibility toggle button.
    • Click Add coordinators to groups to add collaboration coordinators to one or more groups.
    • Click Create new group to create a new group to use for collaborating.
  6. Note:
    When a collaboration is suspended, you cannot add coordinators to groups or create new groups for collaborating.
  7. Click Close to close the details window.

Manage collaboration coordinators

When you create a partnered collaboration, you designate members of your organization with the role of Administrator or Facilitator who have their profile visibility set to Everyone (Public) or Organization as representatives for the collaboration. Collaboration coordinators can create and manage groups, including shared update groups used for collaborating, and invite members from their organizations to groups.

  1. Sign in to your organization as an administrator with privileges to manage the organization's collaborations.
  2. At the top of the site, click Organization and click the Settings tab.
  3. Click Collaborations on the side of the page.
  4. In the Partnered section, click Manage collaboration coordinators.
  5. Select members to add or remove from the list of coordinators.

    Note:
    You can search for individual users by name or user name, or by words users may have in their profile description, for example, Mike Jones Redlands GIS. You can also apply filters to narrow the list.

  6. Click Save to save your changes.

Suspend a collaboration

You can choose to suspend a partnered collaboration to pause organizations from collaborating. When a collaboration is suspended, collaboration coordinators from partnered organizations can no longer be promoted to group managers and new members from partnered organizations cannot be invited to collaboration groups. Existing group members and roles remain unchanged, and items can continue to be shared or removed by members with the privileges to do so. After suspending a collaboration, either organization can choose to resume or end the collaboration.

To suspend a collaboration, complete the following steps:

  1. Sign in to your organization as an administrator with privileges to manage the organization's collaborations.
  2. At the top of the site, click Organization and click the Settings tab.
  3. Click Collaborations on the side of the page.
  4. In the Partnered section, click the More options button More options for the collaboration you want to suspend, and choose Suspend collaboration.
  5. Review the impacts of suspending a collaboration.
  6. Check the box stating that you have notified the collaborating organization that you want to suspend the collaboration.
  7. Click Suspend collaboration.

While a collaboration is suspended, administrators from either organization can choose to remove their members, groups, and content.

Resume a collaboration

When a collaboration is suspended, either organization can choose to resume it at any time.

  1. Sign in to your organization as an administrator with privileges to manage the organization's collaborations.
  2. At the top of the site, click Organization and click the Settings tab.
  3. Click Collaborations on the side of the page.
  4. In the Partnered section, click the More options button More options for the suspended collaboration you want to resume, and choose Resume collaboration.

End a collaboration

When a partnered collaboration ends, groups that are used for collaborating remain active. If a group only allows members of partnered organizations, members and content from collaborating organizations are automatically removed. If a group allows members from any organization, content from collaborating organizations remains and any group managers that are from collaborating organizations are demoted to group members.

  1. Sign in to your organization as an administrator with privileges to manage the organization's collaborations.
  2. At the top of the site, click Organization and click the Settings tab.
  3. Click Collaborations on the side of the page.
  4. In the Partnered section, click the More options button More options for the collaboration you want to end, and choose End collaboration.
  5. Review the groups that are set to all members from partnered organizations only and the members and content that will be removed from them.
  6. Click Next.
  7. Check the box stating that you have notified the collaborating organization that you want to end the collaboration.
  8. Optionally, modify the email message that is sent after ending the collaboration.
  9. Click End collaboration.

When a collaboration is ended, participating organizations can view the ended collaboration and choose to permanently delete it.