Configure the community account sign-in prompt

If your organization has a Hub community, you can configure the sign-in prompt that appears when someone clicks on a Sign Up or Sign In button, a Follow button, or an Attend button. This prompt also appears when an unauthenticated visitor accesses a privately shared item.

Note:

By default, all newly activated Hub communities allow people to sign up for a community account with a social media account or an email address. A community administrator can adjust this default configuration and add supporting text, including a welcome message, community support contact, and terms and conditions.

Configure for a social media account or email address

You can allow the public to set up a community account using their login credentials for one of the following social media platforms: Facebook, Google, Apple, or GitHub. They can also use a personal or work-related email address.

To allow the public to sign up using their social media account or email address, complete the following steps:

  1. Sign in to ArcGIS Hub with your primary ArcGIS account.
  2. Click Hub Settings on the Overview page.
  3. Click Sign In Options.
  4. Click Hub Community Organization and sign in with a set of community administrator account credentials.
  5. Select one or both of the following options:
    • Social accounts
    • Email Accounts
  6. Click Save.

Set up identity provider logins

To enable SAML sign-in options for community members, follow these steps.

  1. Sign in to the community organization as a community administrator.
  2. Click Organization in the primary navigation bar.
  3. Click Settings in the secondary navigation bar.
  4. Click Security in the menu to the left of the page.
  5. Under the Enterprise Logins section, click Set Enterprise Login.
  6. Configure the enterprise login.
    Note:

    You must click Automatically under Your users will be able to join.

  7. Click Set Identity Provider to confirm your changes.

    Note:
    For more information, see Set up SAML.

Disable community account creation

A community administrator can prevent the public from creating community accounts by removing the community account creation option from the sign-in prompt. This allows you to grant community accounts to your stakeholders through invitation. You can enable or disable public account creation anytime.

  1. Sign in to ArcGIS Hub with your primary ArcGIS account.
  2. Click Hub Settings on the Overview page.
  3. Click Sign In Options.
  4. Click Hub Community Organization and sign in with a set of community administrator account credentials.
  5. Ensure that both Social accounts and Email accounts are not selected.
  6. Click Save.

    Once these options are deselected, the No Account? Create a community account prompt does not appear on any sign-in prompt for the Hub.

Add custom text, terms and conditions, and a community support contact

You can optionally add custom terms and conditions, a welcome message, and a community support contact.

  1. Sign in to ArcGIS Hub with your primary ArcGIS account.
  2. Click Hub Settings on the Overview page.
  3. Click Sign In Options.
  4. Click Hub Community Organization and sign in with a set of community administrator account credentials.
  5. Click Custom Sign Up Welcome Message and provide welcome message text.
  6. Click Custom Sign Up Terms and Conditions and provide your organization's terms and conditions.

    The terms and conditions that you provide are available as a link on the sign-in prompt. To create a community account, people must select the I accept and agree to be legally bound by <community organization name> Terms of Use and Privacy check box.

  7. Click Community Support Contact.
  8. Choose a community administrator to be listed as a point of contact after the community account has been created.

    After they've created their account, new community members receive an email from arcgis.com welcoming them to your Hub community. The email contains a record of their user name and the community support contact.

  9. Click Save.