Save, preview, and publish

In Experience Builder, experiences are created in a private builder environment. When you save changes, the experience is saved in a draft status. These draft experiences are only visible to the author and others with administrative privileges in your organization. Publishing is the process that moves experiences from draft status to published status and enables sharing your apps to a broader audience.

Use tools on the builder toolbar to experiment, refine, save, and preview the app to test the end-user experience before you publish and share it.

Tip:

Preview is for the full app, so it always opens to the home page. If you only want to preview a specific page, you can temporarily change it to the home page in the Page panel, click Save, and then preview. (Preview only includes saved changes.)

The toolbar at the top of the builder window includes the following options for testing and finalizing your app:

  • Change the name of the experience item.
  • Lock the layout to avoid unexpectedly changing a widget's size or position.
  • Test interactive widgets in live view.
  • View the app in multiple screen sizes to confirm or refine the layout.
  • Undo or redo your last actions.
  • Save changes, preview the app to test all saved configurations, and publish and share your web experience.
  • Save the app as a new experience, change share settings, view and edit published item details, and copy the link for your published experience.
  • Create an experience and generate a template.

When you publish a web experience or template that you own, if you added subscriber content as a data source or utility service and connected widgets to it, you’ll be prompted to authorize public access via your account. In the Subscriber contents window that opens after clicking Publish, you’ll see a list of applicable data and utility items and options to specify a request limit and interval for each. You can also see which data sources and utility items are premium content, indicated by the Credits column.

Tip:

When adding data or utilities to your app, you can determine whether a data source or utility item is subscriber content by looking for the standard ArcGIS Living Atlas icons on the item cards and in the Data and Utility panels.

Once you publish and share your app, Experience Builder allows you to edit and test app updates without affecting the user experience in the live app. With the Draft, Published, and Unpublished changes statuses for web experiences, you can modify a published app, preview, and test your changes, while users continue to access the live version. When you've made changes to a published experience, after clicking Save, an Unpublished changes badge appears in the builder's toolbar. To move changes from your latest updates, publish the experience again.

Printing and print preview

In a preview window or while viewing a published app, you can see what a print job will look like before you send it to the printer by setting a link on a Button, Card, Image, or Text widget to Print preview. Print preview mode reorganizes special layouts such as screen groups and removes animations and auto plays.