Share a layer to ArcGIS

Sharing layers to ArcGIS is a quick way to share information with your organization or the ArcGIS community. You can share individual layers or the entire map.

Share a layer

When you share a layer to ArcGIS, the layer represents a snapshot of the current data on the map.

Note:

  • You can only share a map or layer to ArcGIS if you are signed in using an ArcGIS user type that includes privileges to create, analyze, and share content and if sharing has been enabled by your organization's administrator. If you're unsure of your account permissions, contact your ArcGIS subscription administrator.
  • Ensure that the map layer names don't contain unsupported characters. For more information, see Layer names.
  • To share a heat map layer to an ArcGIS Enterprise portal, you must use ArcGIS Enterprise 10.8 or later. Earlier versions of ArcGIS Enterprise do not support heat map layers.
  • If the map includes a layer with multiple complex geometries, such as country boundaries, ArcGIS for Office properly renders the layer in Excel, but sharing the layer to ArcGIS may cause the process to time out and fail in extreme cases.

To share a layer to ArcGIS, do the following:

  1. Sign in to ArcGIS in ArcGIS for Office.
  2. At the top of the layer list, select Layer options Layer options.

    The layer options appear.

  3. Select the layer you want to share using the Active layer drop-down menu, if necessary.
  4. From the layer options, select Share layer Share.
    Note:

    The Share layer option is active only if you've selected a layer that can be shared to ArcGIS. You can share layers you create with data from the business system; you cannot share layers you've added from ArcGIS.

    The Share layer pane appears.

  5. In the Share layer pane, specify a title, relevant tags, and a brief description of the layer and choose to share it with your content (private), everyone (public), your organization, or any groups to which you belong.

    These fields are used to display information about the map in ArcGIS and are also used for searching.

  6. Click Share to share the layer to ArcGIS.

    A progress wheel indicates the publishing process. The publishing process may take several minutes depending on the amount of data in the layer. To cancel sharing, click Cancel to return to the Layers pane.

    When the layer has been shared successfully, a confirmation message appears, along with a link to view the shared item in ArcGIS. Click the link to view the item page in ArcGIS. This page displays the title, tags, and description you provided.

  7. Click the Back button to return to the Layers pane.

Update a shared layer

If you make changes to the data used to create a layer that you've shared, you can update the shared layer and republish it in ArcGIS.

Caution:

When you update a shared layer, the feature service in ArcGIS is deleted and replaced with a new one. Any changes made to the layer in ArcGIS are overwritten when the shared layer is updated from ArcGIS for Office.

To update a shared layer, do the following:

  1. Make the desired changes to the data used to create the layer.

    The map automatically updates to reflect the changes.

  2. At the top of the layer list, select Layer options Layer options.

    The layer options appear.

  3. Select the layer you want to modify using the Active layer drop-down menu, if necessary.
  4. From the layer options, select Share layer Share.

    The Share layer pane appears.

  5. Modify the layer details as needed and click Update.

    The shared layer title cannot be edited.

    A progress wheel indicates the publishing process. When the layer has been shared successfully, a confirmation message appears.

  6. Click the Back button Back to return to the Layers pane.