Skip To Content

Share a map to ArcGIS

Sharing a map created in ArcGIS for SharePoint to ArcGIS is a quick way to share information with your organization or the ArcGIS community. You can share individual layers or the entire map.

Share a map

When you share a map, a web map is created in ArcGIS. If the map you're sharing contains layers created using SharePoint data, these layers represent a snapshot of the current data in the map. To create and maintain a link between SharePoint and ArcGIS, you must share the map while in edit mode and save the map before returning to run mode.

Note:

  • You can only share a map or layer to ArcGIS if you are signed in using an ArcGIS user type that includes privileges to create, analyze, and share content and if sharing has been enabled by your organization's administrator. If you're unsure of your account permissions, contact your ArcGIS subscription administrator.
  • To share a heat map layer to an ArcGIS Enterprise portal, you must useArcGIS Enterprise 10.8 or later. Earlier versions of ArcGIS Enterprise do not support heat map layers.

To share a map to ArcGIS, do the following:

  1. On the SharePoint page, place the map web part in edit mode.
  2. Sign in to ArcGIS if you are not already signed in.
  3. From the map tools, select Share map Share.
  4. In the Share map pane, specify a title, relevant tags, and a brief description of the layer and choose to share it with your content (private), everyone (public), your organization, or any groups to which you belong.

    These fields are used to display information about the map in ArcGIS and are also used for searching.

  5. Click Share to share the map to ArcGIS as a web map.

    A progress wheel indicates the publishing process. The publishing process may take several minutes depending on the amount of data in the map. To cancel sharing, click Cancel to return to the map tools.

    When the map has been shared successfully, a confirmation message appears, along with a link to view the shared map in ArcGIS. Click the link to view the web map details page in ArcGIS. This page displays the title, tags, and description you provided.

  6. Click the Close button Close to close the pane.
  7. Click Save on the map's title bar to save the SharePoint page.

    Caution:
    You must click the Save button on the map after you share the map to maintain the relationship between the SharePoint data layers and ArcGIS. If you don't click Save after you share the map, the relationship is not properly established. If you make changes to the data that was used to create a shared layer, the Update map option is not available and you must republish the layer.

    Note:

    When you share a map that was created using SharePoint data, any changes made in ArcGIS and saved are not reflected in the SharePoint map; only changes made to the SharePoint data are reflected in the map. To view those changes in ArcGIS, update the shared map.

Update a shared map

If you make changes to a map that you've shared, you can update the shared map and republish it in ArcGIS.

Caution:
When you update a shared map or layer, the existing feature service in ArcGIS is deleted and replaced with the new one. Any changes made to the map in ArcGIS are overwritten when the shared map or layer is updated in ArcGIS for SharePoint.

To update a shared map, do the following:

  1. With the map in edit mode, make the desired changes to the map, adding or removing layers or changing the SharePoint data used to create the layers.
  2. From the map tools, select Share map Share.
  3. In the Share map pane, modify the map details as needed.
  4. Click Update to update the shared map.

    A progress wheel indicates the publishing process. When the map has been successfully updated, a confirmation message appears.

  5. Click the Close button Close to close the pane.
  6. Click the Save button on the map's title bar to save the SharePoint page.