Skip To Content

Share a layer to ArcGIS

Sharing layers to ArcGIS is a quick way to share information with your organization or the ArcGIS community. You can share individual layers or the entire map.

Share a layer

When you share a layer to ArcGIS, the layer represents a snapshot of the current data on the map. To create and maintain a link between ArcGIS for SharePoint and ArcGIS, you must share the layer or map while in edit mode and save the map before returning to run mode.

Note:

  • You can only share a map or layer to ArcGIS if you are signed in using an ArcGIS user type that includes privileges to create, analyze, and share content and if sharing has been enabled by your organization's administrator. If you're unsure of your account permissions, contact your ArcGIS subscription administrator.
  • You can only share layers that have been created with SharePoint data. You cannot share layers to ArcGIS that you've added using the search function.
  • To share a heat map layer to an ArcGIS Enterprise portal, you must use ArcGIS Enterprise 10.8 or later. Earlier versions of ArcGIS Enterprise do not support heat map layers.

To share a layer to ArcGIS, do the following:

  1. On the SharePoint page, place the map in edit mode.
  2. Sign in to ArcGIS in ArcGIS for SharePoint.
  3. At the top of the layer list, select Layer options Layer options.

    The layer options appear.

  4. Select the layer you want to share using the Active layer drop-down menu, if necessary.
  5. From the layer options, select Share layer Share.
    Note:

    The Share layer option is active only if you've selected a layer that can be shared to ArcGIS. You can share layers you create with data from the business system; you cannot share layers you've added from ArcGIS.

    The Share layer pane appears.

  6. In the Share layer pane, specify a title, relevant tags, and a brief description of the layer and choose to share it with your content (private), everyone (public), your organization, or any groups to which you belong.

    These fields are used to display information about the map in ArcGIS and are also used for searching.

  7. Click Share to share the layer to ArcGIS.

    A progress wheel indicates the publishing process. The publishing process may take several minutes depending on the amount of data in the layer. To cancel sharing, click Cancel to return to the Layers pane.

    When the layer has been shared successfully, a confirmation message appears, along with a link to view the shared item in ArcGIS. Click the link to view the item page in ArcGIS. This page displays the title, tags, and description you provided.

  8. Click the Back button to return to the Layers pane.
  9. Click the Save button on the map's title bar and save the SharePoint page.
    Caution:

    You must click the Save button on the map after you share the layer to maintain the relationship between the SharePoint data layer and ArcGIS. If you don't click Save after you share the layer, the relationship is not properly established. If you make changes to the data that was used to create the shared layer, the Update shared layer option is not available and you must reshare the layer.

    Note:

    When you share a layer that was created using SharePoint data, any changes made in ArcGIS and saved are not reflected in the SharePoint map; only changes made to the SharePoint data are reflected in the map. To view those changes in ArcGIS, update the shared layer.

Update a shared layer

If you make changes to the data used to create a layer that you've shared, you can update the shared layer and republish it in ArcGIS.

Caution:

When you update a shared layer, the feature service in ArcGIS is deleted and replaced with a new one. Any changes made to the layer in ArcGIS are overwritten when the shared layer is updated from ArcGIS for SharePoint.

To update a shared layer, do the following:

  1. Make the desired changes to the data used to create the layer.

    On the map-enabled SharePoint page, reload the map to view the changes.

  2. At the top of the layer list, select Layer options Layer options.

    The layer options appear.

  3. Select the layer you want to modify using the Active layer drop-down menu, if necessary.
  4. From the layer options, select Share layer Share.

    The Share layer pane appears.

  5. Modify the layer details as needed and click Update.

    The shared layer title cannot be edited.

    A progress wheel indicates the publishing process. When the layer has been shared successfully, a confirmation message appears.

  6. Click the Back button Back to return to the Layers pane.
  7. Click the Save button on the map's title bar and save the SharePoint page.