Edit mode and run mode

Microsoft SharePoint uses web parts to display specific content types on a page of a SharePoint site. Like other web parts in SharePoint, ArcGIS for SharePoint has an edit mode and a run mode. SharePoint users with permissions to edit the page containing an ArcGIS for SharePoint web part can add and configure the map in edit mode to define what the user sees, while users with read-only permissions can only interact with the map.

Any changes made in run mode will not be saved; you can only save changes to the map when the web part is in edit mode. See User permissions and permission levels in SharePoint 2013 for more information on SharePoint permission levels.

What you can do with the map also depends on whether you are signed in to an ArcGIS organizational account and your account level, or if you are working as a guest. To add or modify an ArcGIS for SharePoint web part, you must be signed in to ArcGIS using an account with the appropriate privileges.

Edit mode

If you have the appropriate SharePoint and ArcGIS privileges, you have full access to author and configure a map in edit mode. If you have SharePoint with Edit or Design permissions, you can add and configure web parts. If you have Contribute permissions, you can modify an existing web part but cannot add web parts to a page.

To put the web part in edit mode, first place the published page that contains the map in edit mode. On the SharePoint ribbon, click Edit Edit.

When the page is in edit mode, the web part is also placed in edit mode and you have access to the web part tools.

In edit mode, you define the map's configuration and save those changes as part of the web part. As the map author, you can also do the following:

  • Add and style layers from SharePoint or ArcGIS.
  • Set the basemap.
  • Configure pop-ups.
  • Configure clustering.

You can also edit the web part to determine the size of the map, which tools appear on the map, and other properties.

Edit web part

Changes you make to the map while in edit mode are saved automatically. Changes to the page are saved automatically at set intervals, or you can click Save as draft.

Run mode

In run mode, users can interact with the map as a guest user or when signed in as a named user of an ArcGIS organizational account that has been granted run mode privileges only. Guest users have limited access to the map; they can zoom and pan to a layer on the map, or duplicate and remove it. They can also change some layer options, such as symbol style and layer transparency. ArcGIS named users can perform some additional tasks that consume ArcGIS credits, such as buffer/drive-time analysis.

Features that consume ArcGIS credits are available in run mode only when the user is signed in to their ArcGIS organizational account. Any changes made in run mode are not saved in the map. Learn about credits in ArcGIS for SharePoint.


In this topic
  1. Edit mode
  2. Run mode