A mission can exist in three states: Draft, Active, and Complete. A mission's status impacts how work on the mission proceeds, which tools are available, and which users can interact with the mission. The mission status can only be changed by a mission owner or portal administrator who is a member of the mission.
Draft—The status in which a mission is built and provisioned. In this state, a Manager user has access to the mission, but a Responder user cannot view or interact with it.
Active—This status allows users to engage and participate in a mission. A Manager user can make use of the mission analyst tools and a Responder user gains access to the mission.
Complete—The mission has ended but remains available for review and analysis. Responder users do not have access, and editing tools are no longer available.
Mission status is displayed in several places and can also be changed from the Mission Details page. A mission's status can be changed any number of times.
Change mission status
To change the mission status in ArcGIS Mission Manager, complete the following steps:
- Click View Missions.
- Click Mission Details in the mission whose status you want to change.
- Click the mission status drop-down menu.
- Choose the new mission status.
A notification confirms your change to the new mission status.
This is the status in which a mission is built. Most of the work of building and provisioning a mission must be done in this status, from the mission details page in Manager. Every mission is automatically placed in draft status after mission creation and remains there until actively changed.
A mission can be kept in draft status for any length of time. This may mean that the mission is still being prepared, or that the time for activation hasn't been reached yet. Responder users cannot see any mission that is in draft status.
In draft status, all of the Manager tools are accessible and editing may be done freely. However, some tools, such as the Chat, will have limited function because they require interaction with users that may not yet have access to the mission.
This is the status that allows participation by all mission members. For Manager, this is done through the mission analyst experience. Responder users also gain access to the mission.
Active status can be maintained as long as necessary, and individual users can engage the mission as necessary without affecting the mission status.
When a mission has finished and no more participation is expected from Manager or Responder users, the mission should be placed in Complete status. In this status, the mission details can be viewed from Manager, but editing tools are unavailable and Responder no longer has access to the mission. This protects mission information from inappropriate change or additions.