Skip To Content

Supported environments


ArcGIS Maps for SharePoint is deployed as an add-in to Microsoft SharePoint.

For ArcGIS Maps for SharePoint add-ins to operate properly, Esri assumes an operational configuration of Microsoft SharePoint.

ArcGIS Maps for SharePoint is supported for use with Microsoft SharePoint Online.

Esri tests ArcGIS Maps for SharePoint only in software environments certified or supported by Microsoft SharePoint; not all SharePoint-supported environments have been tested or certified. For more information, see the Esri supported environments policy.

System requirements

See the system requirements for Microsoft SharePoint for information:

ArcGIS account

To use ArcGIS Maps for SharePoint and ArcGIS Map Search, you must have an ArcGIS user type that includes privileges to create, analyze, and share content in an ArcGIS Online organization. You can sign up for a free trial subscription of ArcGIS Online. It is assumed that the authentication method used to access the platform has been properly configured by your ArcGIS administrator. Public ArcGIS Online accounts are not supported.

ArcGIS Maps for SharePoint supports the following ArcGIS versions:

  • ArcGIS Online—Current version

Required software

Before deploying ArcGIS Maps for SharePoint, the following prerequisites must be met:

  • SharePoint Online subscription (Office 365). The minimum Office 365 subscription required includes the following:
    • SharePoint Online Plan 1
    • Office 365 Business Essentials

Previous versions of ArcGIS Maps for SharePoint were published as two separate apps. As of 4.1, ArcGIS Maps for SharePoint is packaged as a single add-in that contains various apps and workflows that make up the add-in. Maps created with previous versions will continue to work as expected.

Supported languages

ArcGIS Maps for SharePoint is available in the following languages:

Arabic, Chinese (simplified), Chinese (Traditional Hong Kong), Chinese (Traditional Taiwan), Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latvian, Lithuanian, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese (Brazil), Portuguese (Portugal), Romanian, Russian, Spanish, Thai, Turkish, and Vietnamese.

The language used in the Windows version of the add-ins is determined by your operating system's language setting. If you are using an unsupported language setting, the add-ins use English.

Web browsers

The following browsers are supported:

Browser nameSharePoint Online

Internet Explorer 11


Internet Explorer 10


Internet Explorer 9

Limited (as per Microsoft)

Google Chrome*


Mozilla Firefox*


*Latest released version