Skip To Content

Create a new project

A Drone2Map project must be created before you can begin working with Drone2Map. First, you need to choose a project template.

Create a project using a project template

To create a project, complete the following steps:

  1. Start Drone2Map.
  2. Under Select Project Template, choose Rapid, 2D Mapping, 3D Mapping, Inspection or Custom, depending on the type of product you need to create.
  3. Select custom if you have set a default custom template in the New Project tab in Application Settings. To use a custom template that is not set as default, click Import Template and browse to the location of your D2M Template (.tmpl)
  4. Click Create.

    When you create your first project, a Drone2Map Projects folder is created in your Documents folder.

  5. Type a name for the new project in the Give Your Project A Name text box.
  6. Browse to a location on your local file system where you want the new project to be stored.

    The Drone2Map folder is populated by default. Leave the default, or browse to a new location.

  7. If necessary, click Edit and choose the correct coordinate system of your source imagery.
  8. The vertical units are derived from the units in the specified x,y coordinate system and will update automatically if changed.
  9. Choose the vertical reference for your images.

    See the Vertical reference page for help determining the correct inputs.

  10. Choose Add Folder or Add Images to browse to the location of the imagery to be processed.

    Input images can be either JPEG or TIFF files.

    • JPEG images as .jpg or .jpeg
    • Monochromatic or multiband TIFF (RGB, infrared, thermal) as .tif or .tiff

    Drone2Map checks the images for geolocation information. If your imagery does not have geolocation information embedded in the imagery, you'll be prompted to provide a file with this information. Browse to the file on your local system, and add the file with the GPS data. Choose whether the file will contain headers and the delimiter type. If necessary, map the field to the correct column in the geolocation file. Click OK. The selected images and geolocation information display.

  11. Click OK.

    The project is created and opened in the Drone2Map home screen. A project directory is created in your chosen location, which stores your project settings, processing outputs, and other information about your project.

    Note:

    When you create a new project, Drone2Map checks for available disk space and lets you know if you may need to increase available disk space before processing. It is based on the number of images in the project and uses the following parameters:

    • Less than 100 images = 10 GB of available space
    • Between 100 and 500 images = 20 GB of available space
    • Between 500 and 2,000 images = 40 GB of available space
    • More than 2,000 images = 80 GB of available space

    If you have less than 10 GB of available space, you will see the following message: Less than 10GB disk space is available. It is recommended to increase available disk space to at least 10GB before processing.

Import template

If you have exported a Drone2Map template during a previous Drone2Map session, you can import that template to quickly create a new project using your specific processing options and outputs. To use your Drone2Map template to create a new project, complete the following steps:

  1. Open Drone2Map.
  2. Under Select Project Template, choose Import template.
  3. Browse to your stored Drone2Map template, select it, and click Open.

    Follow the rest of this topic to finish creating your new project.

Geolocation file information

If your images contain GPS positions, Drone2Map automatically reads them, and a geolocation file is not needed. If the images do not contain the image GPS position, a geolocation file is needed. The geolocation file delivered by any camera or GPS system can be edited so it's compatible with Drone2Map.

Close project

To close an open Drone2Map project, click the Close Project button on the ribbon. You will only see the Close Project option when an active project is open.