Skip To Content

Troubleshooting for project owners

Sometimes things just don't work as you expect. The following troubleshooting solutions help you fix issues you may face with your Workforce project.

When trying to connect to Workforce, I get an error titled Workforce Unavailable with a message to contact my administrator.

With the 1.1 release, Workforce now supports access through HTTPS. If your organization only allows access through HTTPS, you need to access Workforce through

Some of my mobile workers haven't moved in a while, but they told me they are no longer at the location that is marked on the map. Why aren't their locations updating?

There are a couple of scenarios in which you might see this. One is when the mobile worker doesn't have a network connection: updating their location requires that they are connected. It could also be related to the mobile worker's status: the mobile worker's location is only updated while their status is Working. When the mobile worker's status is On Break or Not Working, their location is not updated on the map. The mobile worker's location could also be out of date if the mobile worker is using an iPhone or iPad and didn't set their status to Not Working before the app was shut down.

I disabled location tracking, but I still see my mobile workers' locations on the map, and they are still updating. Why didn't location tracking disable?

On the map, you are seeing the current location of your mobile workers, which differs from location tracking. Location tracking is about storing the locations of the mobile workers by creating breadcrumbs of their previous locations. You can use location tracking to review where mobile workers have been, or how long they were in particular locations. In contrast, the position of the mobile worker on the map indicates their current position, which is displayed even when you aren't keeping a record of their past locations.


While the mobile worker's position on the map is often called the current location, it can be out of date. See the previous entry about when mobile workers' locations don't update.

The owner of a Workforce project has left my organization, or responsibility for the project has changed to another member. How do I move project ownership to another member?

Since only the owner of a Workforce project can configure it, you might need to change a project's owner. This is not something you can do through the Workforce app, but you can accomplish this when logged in to your portal in a browser. You'll need to do both of the following tasks to successfully move ownership of your project to another member:

  • Change the owner of all the items created by Workforce to the new owner. This includes the Workforce project, the dispatcher and mobile worker maps, and the four layers (assignments, mobile workers, dispatchers, and tracking information).
  • Change the owner of the project's group to the new owner.

    You cannot create a new group for the project and share all the items with that group. You have to continue using the original group, although you can edit the group, as well as add additional content to it. While you can invite users, those users won't be able to work in the project unless added through it.

App integrations no longer work.

Your Collector, Explorer, or Survey123 integrations were working just fine, but now you are getting reports from the mobile workers that they can't access the associated map or survey. Or perhaps you see an error message on the project's Advanced tab about a map or survey having changed sharing permissions or being inaccessible.

Open your project configuration and look at the Advanced tab.

  • If you don't see a message and your integrations appear to still be valid, they may be accessible to you but not your mobile workers. Go to the integrated maps or surveys on the portal website (ArcGIS Online or ArcGIS Enterprise) and update the sharing so that they are accessible to your mobile workers. Often the best way to do so is by sharing them with the Workforce project's group.
  • If you see Sharing permissions on Collector map have changed (id: <Item ID>), Sharing permissions on Explorer map have changed (id: <Item ID>), or Sharing permissions on Survey123 form have changed (id: <Item ID>), its permissions changed such that it is no longer in any group you have access to or it is shared publicly (with everyone). This can appear for maps you own, as well as maps you don't own. If you own the item, or if you are an administrator in your organization, update its sharing on the portal website. If you don't own it and are not an administrator in your organization, your administrator may be able to help you fix this. Copy the ID of the problematic map or survey from the message and send it to your administrator. The administrator can log in to the portal website, search for that ID, and fix the sharing on that item.

  • If you see Collector map does not exist or is inaccessible (id: <Item ID>), Explorer map does not exist or is inaccessible (id: <Item ID>), or Survey123 form does not exist or is inaccessible (id: <Item ID>), the item has been deleted or the item itself is invalid. Your best approach to fixing it depends on the number of app integrations you had for the app (Collector, Explorer, or Survey123) that is showing the message.

    If you were only integrating with that single map or survey, reset the app integrations in Workforce by clicking Reset to the right of the message. This clears your integration for that app (Collector, Explorer, or Survey123) and you can re-create it once you have created a new map or survey to integrate.

    If you have integrated multiple maps or surveys, contact Support. Through Support, you'll be walked through the process of removing the single invalid map or survey while leaving your other integrations for that app intact.


    If you'd rather reconfigure all integrations for the app that is presenting the message, you can reset your integrations using the Reset button (as in the case for a single integration that is invalid). Be advised that once you click the button, Support won't be able to restore your previous integrations for that app, as they are all cleared. You'll need to set up your map or survey integrations again.

I'm getting an Unable to add assignment type error when trying to add my first assignment type or trying to add an assignment type after I've left my portal idle.

You've encountered an issue with Workforce on ArcGIS Enterprise.