Skip To Content

Publish your survey

After previewing your survey in the Survey123 website but before you deploy it, you need to publish it.

New surveys

To publish a survey you created in the Survey123 website, click the Publish button in the lower-right corner of the Design page.

When you publish, you'll be warned that once a survey is published, it cannot be changed. The reason for this is that feature services are generated during the process of publication, and editing of existing feature services can be complex or, in some cases, entirely impossible. When you publish a survey, a feature service is created to represent your form, and your form is saved as an item in ArcGIS Online or ArcGIS Enterprise.

Your survey is now available to be sent to other users to complete online and for download and use in the Survey123 field app.

Update surveys

Your survey is composed of two parts: the form item that the app downloads and the feature service that contains the data submitted from the survey. It's possible to edit a survey and republish it without deleting the feature service.

Provided your edits don't change the schema of the feature service, you can republish your survey without deleting and re-creating the feature service. Only the form item will be updated. The following table describes the changes that can be made to a published survey that would not cause loss of data. N/A denotes a feature that is unavailable to add to the survey in this environment and cannot be changed at all.

Changes that can be madeSurvey123 websiteSurvey123 Connect

Reorder questions

Yes

Yes

Delete questions

Yes

Yes

Update labels in questions

Yes

Yes

Update labels in groups

N/A

Yes

Add, update, or delete choices in lists

Yes

Yes

Update constraints, defaults, hints, required question status

Yes

Yes

Update calculations, choice filters

N/A

Yes

Delete questions or repeats

Yes

Yes

Change question types

No

No

Add new questions

Yes

No

Add repeats

N/A

No

Add new notes

N/A

Yes

Update repeat name

N/A

No

Add groups

N/A

Yes

After saving changes to the survey, click the Publish button to republish it, after which your changes will be available to all users.

If your updated survey will change the schema of the feature service where the responses are saved, you will be warned and asked if you want to keep or delete records that have answers associated with the original schema that are now invalid.