Skip To Content

Manage licenses

Items sold in ArcGIS Marketplace are licensed one of two ways: by organization and by member. Items licensed to the organization are shared to a group by the administrator and all members in the group have access to the item. Items licensed by member need to have licenses assigned to specific named members.

Note:
When web map app's are purchased and a license has been assigned to your organization, you can launch the web app directly from your site. Click the Apps button Apps in the header of your ArcGIS Online account and choose the app you want to open.

Manage licenses by organization

For items with per-organization licensing, administrators and members with privileges to request purchases or start trials share the item with groups owned by members of your ArcGIS Online organization. You cannot share the item with your organization at large or with everyone (public).

  1. Verify that you are signed in to your ArcGIS Online organization site as an administrator or member with privileges to request purchases or start trials.
  2. Open the item you want to share with members of your organization.
    • From the Apps and Data section of the Console page, click the Manage Sharing link.
    • From the listing details page, click the Go To Item button. (When you are signed in, ArcGIS Marketplace detects you have access to the listing and displays the Go To Item button.)
  3. From the item page, click the Share button.
  4. On the Share window that appears, check the box or boxes next to the group or groups with which you want to share the item.
    Note:
    It is your responsibility to limit the numbers of users who access the item to the maximum number of users you and the provider agreed to. Providers will receive statistics on the number of unique users who access their item from your organization.

    If a listing is bundled with ArcGIS hosted layers, the bundled items will automatically be shared to the group.

Manage licenses by member

For items with per-member licensing, administrators and members with licensing privileges use ArcGIS Online to manage the licenses.

View license details

The licensing page includes details about the products provisioned to your organization, a member table, and tools to configure licenses.

  1. Verify that you are signed in to your ArcGIS Online organization site as an administrator or member with licensing privileges.
  2. Click Organization at the top of the site and click Manage Licenses.
  3. Click the Additional Products tab.

You see the products your organization has been provisioned for and, for each of those products, the total number of licenses and the number of licenses available for you to assign to members.

Tip:

If a listing is bundled with ArcGIS hosted layers, the bundled items will automatically get assigned.

Configure licenses for one member

By clicking an individual member of the organization, your license changes affect only one member at a time.

  1. Verify that you are signed in to your ArcGIS Online organization site as an administrator or member with licensing privileges.
  2. Click Organization at the top of the site and click Manage Licenses.
  3. Click the Additional Products tab.
  4. In the list of organization members, find the member whose license you want to manage.
  5. To filter the list of users by name, role, group, or product, click Search by and enter the criteria.
  6. In the row of the member you want to manage, click the hyperlink in the Licensed for column. Clicking elsewhere in the row instead adds the member to the list of selected members, allowing you to manage licenses in bulk.

    If the member hasn't been assigned any licenses yet, the link says Configure.

  7. Configure licenses for the member.
    • To assign a license, choose the application and click Assign.
    • To update existing license assignments, choose the application and click Update.
    • To remove all licenses, click Revoke All.

Configure licenses for multiple members

You can make license changes for multiple members at a time. The updates apply to all the members in the Selected Members list.

  1. Verify that you are signed in to your ArcGIS Online organization site as an administrator or member with licensing privileges.
  2. Click Organization at the top of the site and click Manage Licenses.
  3. Click the Additional Products tab.
  4. Add members to the Selected Members list.
    • To add one member to the list, click that member's row.
    • To add all members of your organization to the list, click Select All above the Members list.
    • To filter the list of members by name, role, group, or product, click Search by and enter the criteria. Click each member you want to add to the list or click Select All to click all members that meet the criteria. For example, to update licenses for everyone in a certain group, click Search by, click the group name from the drop-down list, and click Select All.
    • To remove a member from the list, click that member's name from the Selected Members list next to the member table.
  5. Click Configure to update licenses for all in the Selected Members list.
    • To assign a license, choose the application and click Assign.
    • To update existing license assignments, choose the application and click Update.
    • To remove all licenses, click Revoke All.
  6. The Selected Members list is retained as you filter the Members and configure licenses. Click a row in the Selected Members list to remove an individual member or Clear to empty the list completely.

Considerations for managing licenses

  • You only manage licenses that have been licensed by member. Items that have been licensed by organization need to be shared with groups in your organization.
  • Each product has a corresponding column that shows the number of licenses available to assign. The column graphics change color to reflect the percent of licenses available. The breaks represent availability of more than 50 percent, between and including 50 percent and 20 percent, between 20 percent and 0 percent, and less than 0.
  • It is possible for your organization to exceed the number of licenses available, resulting in a negative number available. This can happen if you assign licenses to your members but are later entitled to fewer licenses, such as if you make changes to your maintenance agreement or you are using trial licenses. Upon the expiration of any license in your organization, you must revoke the expired license so your organization's members are only assigned valid licenses. Until you correct the license assignments, no one in the organization will be able to sign in to the product.