Skip To Content

Share a map to ArcGIS

You can share a map to ArcGIS and update that shared map if desired.

Share a map

Sharing a map created in ArcGIS Maps for SharePoint to ArcGIS is a quick way to share information with others in your organization or in the ArcGIS public community.

When you share a map, a web map is created on ArcGIS. If the map you're sharing contains layers created from SharePoint data, these layers will represent a snapshot of the current SharePoint data in the shared map. To create and maintain a link between SharePoint and ArcGIS, you must share the map while in edit mode and save the map before returning to run mode.

Note:

You can only share a map to ArcGIS if you are signed in with an organizational account that has publisher permissions and if sharing has been enabled by your organization's administrator. If you're unsure of your account permissions, contact your ArcGIS subscription administrator.

  1. On your SharePoint page, place the map web part in edit mode.
  2. Sign in to ArcGIS if you are not already signed in.
  3. On the map's title bar, click the Share tab and click Share map.
  4. In the Share map pane, specify a title, tags, and a description for the map and choose whether to share it with everyone (public), your organization, or any groups to which you belong. These fields are used to display information about the map in ArcGIS and are also used for searching.
  5. Click Share to share the map to ArcGIS as a web map.
    Note:

    If one or more layers in the map have already been shared, a message appears asking you to update the layer. Set the toggle switch to Yes to update the layer or to No to leave the published layer as is on ArcGIS, and click Share.

    A progress bar indicates the publishing process. Publishing may take several minutes depending on the amount of data in your map. When the map has been shared successfully, a confirmation message appears.

  6. Click OK to close the message.

    A message appears at the bottom of the Contents pane along with a link to view the shared map. Click the link to view the web map details page in ArcGIS. This page displays the title, tags, and description you provided.

  7. Click Save on the map's title bar to save the SharePoint page.

    Caution:
    You must click the Save button on the map after you share the map to maintain the relationship between the SharePoint data layers and ArcGIS. If you don't click Save after you successfully share the map, the relationship will not be properly established. If you make changes to the data used to create a shared layer, the Update shared map option will not be available and you'll have to republish the layer.

    Note:

    When you share a map created using SharePoint data, any changes made in ArcGIS and saved will not be reflected in the SharePoint map; only changes made to the SharePoint data are reflected in the map. To view those changes in ArcGIS, update the shared map.

Update a shared map

If you make changes to a map that you've already shared, you can update the shared map and republish it in ArcGIS.

Caution:
When you update a shared map or layer, the existing feature service on ArcGIS is deleted and replaced with the new one. Any changes made to the map in ArcGIS will be overwritten when the shared map or layer is updated in ArcGIS Maps for SharePoint
.

  1. With the map in edit mode, make the desired changes to the map, adding or removing layers or changing the SharePoint data used to create layers.
  2. Click the map's Save button to save the changes.
  3. On the map's title bar, click the Share tab and click Update shared map.
  4. In the Share map pane, modify the map details as needed.
  5. Click Share to update the shared map.
    Note:

    If one or more layers in the map have already been shared, a message appears asking you to update the layer. Set the toggle switch to Yes to update the layer or to No to leave the published layer as is in ArcGIS.

    A progress bar indicates the publishing process. When the map is successfully updated, a confirmation message appears.

  6. Click OK to close the confirmation message.

    A message appears at the bottom of the Contents pane along with a link to view the shared map in ArcGIS. Click the link to view the web map details page in ArcGIS. This page displays the title, tags, and description you provided.

  7. Click the Save button on the map's title bar to save the SharePoint page.