Skip To Content

Share a layer on ArcGIS

You can share a map layer to ArcGIS and update that shared layer if desired.

Share a layer

Sharing your SharePoint data layers to ArcGIS is a quick way to share information with others in your organization or in the ArcGIS public community. You can share individual layers or the entire map.

When you share a layer, a hosted feature service is created on ArcGIS. The shared layer represents a snapshot of the current SharePoint data on the map. To create and maintain a link between ArcGIS Maps for SharePoint and ArcGIS, you must share the layer or map while in Edit mode and save the map before returning to run mode.

Note:

  • You can only share layers to ArcGIS if you are signed in with an organizational account that has publisher permissions. If you are unsure of your account permissions, contact your ArcGIS subscription administrator.
  • Only layers that have been created with SharePoint data can be shared. You cannot share layers to ArcGIS that you've added using the Search function.
  • Heat map layers cannot be shared on an ArcGIS Enterprise portal. If your map contains a heat map layer, either remove the layer from the map or change the layer's style.

To share a layer, do the following:

  1. On your SharePoint page, place the map in Edit mode.
  2. Sign in to ArcGIS if you are not already signed in.
  3. In the Contents pane, click the Layer options Layer options button to the right of the layer you want to share and choose Share layer.

    The Share layer option is visible only if you've selected a layer that can be shared on ArcGIS. Layers you create with data from your business system can be shared; layers you've added from ArcGIS cannot be shared.

    Note:

    • When you share a layer styled as a heat map or with clustering applied, the layer displays as a point layer in ArcGIS.

  4. In the Share layer pane, specify a title, relevant tags, and a brief description of the layer and choose whether to share it with everyone (public), your organization, or any groups to which you belong.
  5. Click Share to publish the layer to ArcGIS as a hosted feature service.
    Note:

    If the layer has already been shared, a message appears asking you to update the layer. Set the toggle switch to Yes to update the layer or to No to leave the shared layer as is on ArcGIS.

    A progress bar indicates the publishing process. Publishing may take several minutes depending on the amount of data in your layer. When the layer has been shared successfully, a confirmation message appears.

  6. Click OK to close the confirmation message.
  7. Click the Save button on the map's title bar and save the SharePoint page.
    Caution:

    You must click the Save button on the map after you share the layer to maintain the relationship between the SharePoint data layer and ArcGIS. If you don't click Save after you successfully share the layer, the relationship will not be properly established. If you make changes to the data used to create the shared layer, the Update shared layer option will not be available and you'll have to re-share the layer.

    Note:

    When you share a layer created using SharePoint data, any changes made in ArcGIS and saved will not be reflected in the SharePoint map; only changes made to the SharePoint data are reflected in the map. To view those changes in ArcGIS, update the shared layer.

Update a shared layer

If you make changes to the data used to create a layer that you've shared, you can update the shared layer and republish it in ArcGIS.

Caution:

When you update a shared layer, the feature service on ArcGIS is deleted and replaced with a new one. Any changes made to the layer in ArcGIS will be overwritten when the shared layer is updated from ArcGIS Maps for SharePoint.

To update a shared layer, do the following:

  1. Make the desired changes to the SharePoint data used to create the layer.
  2. On your map-enabled SharePoint page, reload the map to view the changes.
  3. On the map's title bar, click the Share tab and click Update shared layer.
  4. In the Update shared layer pane, modify the details as needed and click Share.

    A progress bar indicates the publishing process. When the layer has been shared successfully, a confirmation message appears.

  5. Click OK to close the confirmation message.
  6. Click the Save button on the map's title bar and save the SharePoint page.