Go offline

In the field, you often work in areas without a data connection. If that's the case, you can download the map to make it available when you do not have a connection. You can also download or copy basemaps directly to your device and reuse them across multiple maps. Once you have your map offline, you can work with your map, including collecting and editing data, in the same way as when you're connected.

Download the map

To work offline, download the map to your device.

  1. If your map is available for download, select Download to start downloading the map.
  2. Using the map, zoom in or out as needed until you can see the entire work area that you need to download.
  3. Select Map Detail and zoom in or out until the map is showing the detail you need to work with in the field.
  4. Select Download.

    You are taken back to the Map Gallery and the map downloads. Depending on the size of your map, the download could take some time. During download, a progress bar displays and a cancel option is available.

  5. When the map has finished downloading, you can open and use the map without an Internet connection.

Use basemaps on your device

Basemaps provide the frame of reference for your data. When working offline, you can use basemaps on your device instead of downloading a basemap for each map you use offline. This has a few advantages: it's faster in most cases and allows you to prepare basemaps for much larger areas.

  1. Prepare a tile package (.tpk) using ArcGIS for Desktop. For details, see How to create a tile package in the ArcGIS help.
  2. Plug your device into your computer.
  3. Using a file explorer on your computer, browse to the ArcGIS_Collector folder on your device.
  4. Copy the tile package (.tpk) to the ArcGIS_Collector folder.
  5. Restart Collector for ArcGIS on your device.

Sync your work

Sync allows you to send and receive updates for maps you've taken offline. Anytime you regain connectivity and want to check for new updates or send your updates for other people to see, select Sync on the map card in the Map Gallery.

You can configure Collector to only push your edits up to the server when you sync, and not to pull down edits made by others while you were offline. This reduces the amount of data transferred, making it faster to share your changes, and saving data transfer costs on cellular networks. If the edits being made by others are important to you, leave Push Only synchronization disabled.

To enable push only synchronization, go to the Map Gallery and select Settings from the Overflow menu Overflow. Enable Push Only synchronization.

Remove maps and basemaps from your device

Occasionally, you may need to manage the maps or basemaps on your device. You may want to remove the map for a number of reasons: you're finished with it, it's out-of-date, it's taking up too much space on your device, or you want to use it while connected.

Manage can be found in the Overflow menu of the Map Gallery. Switch between maps and basemaps to access the content you want to remove from your device. Find the card of the item to remove and select Remove.

When removing a map, you can remove the entire map (including the basemap), or you can remove the map and save the basemap for future use. This is useful if you expect to reuse the basemap with another map.