As a publisher, you need to manage the hosted layers you publish to ArcGIS Online.
Some management is specific to the type of hosted layer. See Manage hosted feature layers , Manage hosted tile layers, and Manage hosted scene layers for information on settings and management tasks specific to those layer types.
The following list and sections describe settings that hosted layer owners and administrators control for all hosted layer types:
- Who can access the hosted layers—When you first publish hosted layers, they are visible only to you and administrators unless you share them.
- The details stored with your hosted layers, such as the name, summary, or thumbnail.
- Monitor usage of your web layers.
- Whether the hosted layer can be deleted.
- Delete layers that are no longer needed.
- Set the layer extent.
- Enable pop-ups.
Manage delete operations
If you no longer need a hosted layer, you may want to delete it. Before you do, you should understand the dependencies between layers and data.
If you published the hosted layer directly to ArcGIS Online, deleting the hosted layer deletes the underlying data the layer represents. If you published or created the layer from an existing hosted feature layer instead, the existing hosted feature layer is the primary layer and is considered the data source. Deleting the dependent layers you created from the hosted feature layer does not delete the data.
The presence of dependent layers prevents you from deleting the hosted feature layer from which the dependent layer was created. When you attempt to delete a file or hosted feature layer that has dependent layers using the Delete button on the item's detail page, a message box appears that lists the dependent layers. This message provides links to view and delete each dependent layer. Once you delete all dependent layers, you can delete the hosted feature layer or file.
If you delete the file from which a hosted layer was published, you'll receive a message warning you there are dependent layers. You will not be prevented from deleting the file, but if you do delete it, certain functionality may no longer be available to you. For example, if you delete the service definition file created when you published a hosted feature layer from an ArcGIS Desktop client, you won't be able to overwrite the hosted feature layer from ArcMap. Similarly, if you delete the tile package from which a hosted tile package was published, maps that contain the hosted tile layer cannot be taken offline.
The following apply to dependent hosted layers:
- If you published hosted tile layers, hosted scene layers, or hosted WFS layers from a hosted feature layer, you must delete these layers before you can delete the hosted feature layer.
- If you created a hosted feature layer view from a hosted feature layer, you must delete the feature layer view before you can delete the hosted feature layer.
- If you published hosted tile or scene layers from a hosted feature layer view, you must delete the hosted tile or scene layers before you can delete the hosted feature layer view.
If all the dependent layers are stored in the same folder in My Content, you can delete all the dependent layers at once by checking the box next to each dependent layer and clicking Delete. Delete the dependent layers first. If you also check the box next to the primary hosted feature layer, the delete operation may fail because you cannot control the order in which items are deleted when using this method.
Manage ownership of dependent layers
If you are an administrator of the organization and have privileges to reassign ownership, you can change ownership of items. To change ownership of dependent layers, the administrator must change ownership of the primary hosted feature layer. All dependent layers and the item used to create the primary hosted feature layer (such as a service definition file or CSV file) will automatically change ownership too.