Distributed collaboration capabilities are offered as part of an early adopter program available to interested ArcGIS Online organizations. You must have an ArcGIS Enterprise 10.5.1 (or later) base deployment to participate in the early adopter program. For more information and to apply for the program, visit the Enterprise to Online Collaboration early adopter website.
Supported item types, including maps, layers, and files, can be shared across participants in a collaboration. When content is shared with a participant, a new folder is created under the participating administrator's folder. This folder is used to import the content and store the items, which are then shared with the group associated with the collaboration workspace. The folder is named based on the collaboration name.
Collaboration does not support sharing apps at this release.
If you change the way in which an item is shared, ensure you modify the sharing settings for related items as well. For example, if a web map was previously shared with Everyone but you altered it to be shared with your organization, you should change the settings in any operational layers contained in the web map accordingly.
When you share web maps that contain hosted layers with collaboration participants, corresponding web map items are created in the collaboration. You should also share any related items for the hosted layers in the web map and source data that created those layers to the collaboration group. For example, if you share a web map with a hosted feature layer published from a shapefile, share the hosted feature layer and shapefile with the group associated with the collaboration workspace. That way, collaboration participants receive a copy of the web map, a copy of the hosted feature layer, and a copy of the original shapefile.
When you share web scenes, feature layers contained in the web scene will be shared as copies as long as the collaboration group is configured to share as copies.
All layer items can be shared in a collaboration as references to the original source data. For hosted feature layers, there is an additional option to share these items as copies.For hosted feature layers, there is an additional option to share these items as copies.
Share a layer as a reference
All layer items can be shared as references. If you share a layer as a reference, a new item is created in the participant portals that refers to the original service; the services and corresponding data are not copied to each participating portal. If a participant shares a feature service, only the owner of that service can edit the original feature service. Collaboration participants receive live access to feature layers in the designated workspace. Collaboration participants must have access to view features from the originating portal.
Share a hosted or federated feature layer as a copy
Hosted or federated feature layer items can be shared with the option to copy data. If you share a feature layer by copying data, a new item is created in the receiving participant portals, and the copied data is used to publish a feature layer on the participant portal. The owner of the original feature service can edit the feature service and synchronize changes to the participant portals at a scheduled interval. To use this approach, the sync interval must be set in the collaboration workspace, and sync must be enabled on each participating item in the collaboration.
When you join a workspace where access includes Send content, items you add to the workspace's group are sent to organizations configured to Receive content from the workspace. For sync-enabled feature layer items, the data and the feature layer are copied to the receiving organization. The copied feature layer will be hosted by and have a URL that references the receiving organization. Edits made to the feature layer in your organization are applied to any receiving organization's copy once the workspace is synced.
For more information, see Share feature layer data as copies.
Share ArcGIS Server services
If an ArcGIS Server service item is shared to the portal where it originated, as well as to a group associated with a collaboration workspace, members of other participants are still prompted for credentials when adding the service to a map. To avoid a prompt for credentials, you must share the service in the originating portal with Everyone as well as with the group associated with the collaboration workspace.
ArcGIS Server services that are shared with collaboration participants create items in the participant portals that refer to the original service; the services and corresponding data are not copied to each participating portal. If a participant shares a feature service, only the owner of that service can edit the original feature service.
Once a feature layer has been shared as a data copy, any subsequent schema changes such as enabling attachments will not be synchronized with other participant portals. Ownership-based access control settings on the original hosted feature layer will not be included in the copied data.
Files such as PDFs shared with collaboration participants create corresponding file items in the collaboration participant portals. Any changes you make to those files as a guest participant will be overwritten when the content is synced from the item's source. The same is true of metadata associated with an item.
Mobile map packages (.mmpk) can be shared with collaboration participants as long as they are not owned by "esri_nav".
Item comments are not synced with collaboration participants.