Skip To Content

Manage trial subscription

After your trial organizational subscription has expired or is otherwise disabled, you can purchase a full organizational subscription or convert the trial organizational subscription accounts into one or more public accounts. When you purchase a subscription at the end of your trial, all the work you do during your trial period is preserved and brought into your newly purchased annual subscription. If you choose to convert your accounts instead, the accounts in your trial organizational subscription will be converted to one or more public accounts. Each public account will continue to own all items that it owned during the trial, with some exceptions.

View status of your trial

To see the status of your trial subscription, verify that you are signed in to the website as an administrator and click Organization.

If you see Purchase Subscription in the Subscription Status section of your organization page, you are still within your trial period. Click Purchase Subscription to get more information on how to upgrade to a full organizational subscription.

If you are in the United States, you can also upgrade directly by buying a plan online, by calling 1-800-447-9778, or by contacting your local Esri office.

If you are outside the United States, you can upgrade by contacting your local Esri office.

If you see Purchase in the Subscription Status section of your organization page, your trial has expired or is otherwise disabled. You will need to upgrade to a full organizational subscription or convert the organizational accounts in the trial into public accounts. Click Purchase to get started.

Upgrade to a full organizational subscription

At any time during your trial of ArcGIS Online, you can upgrade to a full organizational subscription. When you upgrade, all the work you have done during the trial is preserved. This includes the configurations you've made to the website and the hosted web layers you've published. Your subscription status will reflect your purchase.

Convert trial organizational accounts into public accounts

If you do not want to purchase a subscription at the end of your trial, you can convert the accounts in the trial to one or more public accounts. With a public account, you can author, store, and manage apps and data, and share them with others. You can also get access to content shared by Esri and GIS users around the world. Public accounts are for noncommercial use only.

Each public account that is converted from a trial organizational account will continue to own all the items it owned during the trial with the exception of groups, group gallery apps, and hosted web layers. Any hosted web layers published during the trial will be deleted from the system and will not be transferred to the public account. Groups and group gallery apps will also be deleted from the system and will not be transferred to the public account.

Considerations for converting to public accounts

  • As an administrator, when you log in with your organizational account, you should see Purchase in the Subscription Status section of your organization page. This indicates that your trial has expired or is otherwise disabled, and you can convert the organizational accounts back into public accounts. Click the Purchase link to get started.
  • Once you convert trial accounts into public accounts, you lose all hosted web layers published during the trial. You will also lose any groups and group gallery apps you created. If you later decide to purchase a subscription and invite users with the converted public accounts into the organization, the hosted web layers, groups, and group gallery apps cannot be retrieved. They are removed from the system at the time of the conversion. If you want to maintain your hosted web layers, groups, and group gallery apps, you need to convert to an organizational account before your trial ends.
  • Maps that contain hosted web layers will appear broken because the hosted web layers will no longer work. You can fix the maps by removing the hosted web layers and adding different layers.
  • Web apps will appear broken because the URLs will still contain your trial organization URL, which no longer exists. You can fix the apps by editing the URL field in the item details page. Replace your organization URL with https://www.arcgis.com.
  • Any links you've shared to your items will no longer work because your trial organization no longer exists. You can send updated links to your content. You cannot send updated links to your hosted web layers, groups, or group gallery apps because these are removed from the system.